The BCMA Team – BCMA Administrator

BCMA LogoWelcome to the BCMA Blog. For our first posts I thought I would start to introduce some of the team here at the British Complementary Medicine Association. Today is my turn, I am the BCMA Administrator and have worked for the BCMA for over 10 years, before I was asked to design their ‘new’ website and do some admin duties I had only a very limited view about Complementary Therapies and what CAM was all about.

I had vaguely heard of Homeopathy and Acupuncture but what on earth are Reiki, Reflexology and NLP? I had of course some knowledge of massage but how did you know where to find a massage therapist and not get more than you bargained for (certain impressions gained from the media immediately sprang to mind). So as with all my past jobs I needed to know more if I was going to be a part of this organisation. This started with my self education on complementary therapies. Luckily I am competent with computers, search engines and have pretty good ‘people skills’ so I started research.

 Picture

It soon became apparent there was a whole world of therapies out there, most of them directed at your body’s own ability to heal itself with gentle help, NONE of them are miracle cures and would never claim to be so. I learned early on that professional therapists with good reputations never claim to be able to do more than help your body use its natural abilities and relax you.

In the last ten years I have been privileged to meet many therapists and sample some of their therapies. I now have first hand experience of many of the therapies within the BCMA including Reiki, Reflexology and Energy Field Therapy and have a much better understanding of CAM, which helps me when I am responding to questions via phone and email from the public and therapists.

The BCMA has just announced the launch of the BCMA Guides, at our first ever Road Show on 18th May 2013, one of which I have helped to compile ‘The BCMA Guide to Finding a Therapist’ one of 4 guides being released as either an online download or in paper format for a very low fee.

Guide

Other titles

‘BCMA Guide to setting up a Therapy Organisation’
‘BCMA Guide to setting up a Therapy School’
‘BCMA Guide to setting up a Therapy Clinic’

More information to follow during the launch.

Which title would you be interested in? Are there any titles you would like to see added?

Tracy Smith

BCMA Administrator

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment